Vaavu Atoll Dive Sites

Vaavu Atoll, also known as Felidhu Atoll, is located south of South Malé Atoll, and consists of 24 islands, 19 of which are inhabited. It contains two natural atolls, Vaavu Atoll and the Vattaru Reef. In contrast to the most of the Maldivian atolls, Vaavu Atoll is more isolated and less-developed in terms of tourist infrastructure, but at the same time is known to be one of the best sites with great snorkeling and diving. Another particularity that makes this atoll different from others is that instead of thilas (pinnacles), Vaavu Atoll mainly consists of kandus (channels) that are well-suited for diving. One of the most famous dive sites in Vaavu Atoll is Fotteyo Kandu, a channel with many caves and large overhangs, which is often referred to as one of the world's top dive sites. Another must-see diving spot here is Fushi Kandu, which has magnificent colorful coral blocks and many reef sharks in its waters. Miyaru Kandu, which is also a site for shark visits, consists of caves and fields of black and bizarre whip wire corals. In contrast to many other dive sites, night diving at Alimathaa Kandu (another site in Vaavu Atoll), is full of interesting and easy-to-spot fauna.